

Supplement No. 2 published with Gazette No. 9 dated 26 April, 2011.

STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

2011 No. 976

THE PENALTIES, OFFSHORE INCOME ETC. (DESIGNATION OF TERRITORIES) ORDER 2011

## STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

#### 2011 No. 976

#### CAPITAL GAINS TAX

#### **INCOME TAX**

# The Penalties, Offshore Income etc. (Designation of Territories) Order 2011

Made Coming into force 28th March 2011 6th April 2011

The Treasury make the following Order in exercise of the powers conferred by paragraph 21A(1) to (4) of Schedule 24 to the Finance Act  $2007(\underline{1})$ .

In accordance with paragraph 21A(7) of Schedule 24 to that Act, a draft of this instrument was laid before the House of Commons and approved by a resolution of that House.

#### Citation and commencement

1. This Order may be cited as the Penalties, Offshore Income etc. (Designation of Territories) Order 2011 and comes into force on 6th April 2011.

## **Designation of territories**

- 2. The territories specified in the left hand column of the Table in the Schedule to this Order are designated as category 1 territories for the purposes of Schedule 24 to the Finance Act 2007(2) (penalties for errors).
- 3. The territories specified in the right hand column of the Table in the Schedule to this Order are designated as category 3 territories for the purposes of Schedule 24 to the Finance Act 2007.

Michael Fabricant

James Duddridge

28th March 2011 Two of the Lords Commissioners of Her Majesty's Treasury

# **SCHEDULE**

Articles 2 and 3

# **Designated Territories**

Category 1 territories	Category 3 territories
Anguilla	Albania
Aruba	Algeria
Australia	Andorra
Belgium	Antigua and Barbuda
Bulgaria	Armenia
Canada	Bahrain
Cayman Islands	Barbados
Cyprus	Belize
Czech Republic	Bonaire, Sint Eustatius and Saba
Denmark (not including Faroe Islands and Greenland)	Brazil
Estonia	Cameroon
Finland	Cape Verde
France	Colombia
Germany	Congo, Republic of the
Greece	Cook Islands
Guernsey	Costa Rica
Hungary	Curaçao
Ireland	Cuba
Isle of Man	Democratic People's Republic of Korea

Italy	Dominica
Japan	Dominican Republic
Korea, South	Ecuador
Latvia	El Salvador
Lithuania	Gabon
Malta	Grenada
Montserrat	Guatemala
Netherlands (not including Bonaire, Sint	Honduras
Eustatius and Saba)	Iran
New Zealand (not including Tokelau)	Iraq
Norway	Jamaica
Poland	Kyrgyzstan
Portugal	Lebanon
Romania	Macau
Slovakia	Marshall Islands
Slovenia	Mauritius
Spain	Micronesia, Federated
Sweden	States of
United States of America (not including overseas territories and possessions)	Monaco
,	Nauru
	Nicaragua
	Niue
	Palau

Panama
Paraguay
Peru
Saint Kitts and Nevis
Saint Lucia
Saint Vincent and the Grenadines
San Marino
Seychelles
Sint Maarten
Suriname
Syria
Tokelau
Tonga
Trinidad and Tobago
United Arab Emirates
Uruguay

# **EXPLANATORY NOTE**

(This note is not part of the Order)

This Order designates certain territories as category 1 territories or as category 3 territories for the purposes of Schedule 24 to the Finance Act 2007 (c. 11), as amended by Schedule 10 to the Finance Act 2010 (c. 13).

Schedule 10 to the Finance Act 2010 amends the level of penalties that may be charged in cases of non-compliance with UK income tax and capital gains tax obligations with respect to offshore income, gains and assets.

New paragraphs 4 and 4A of Schedule 24, inserted by paragraph 2 of Schedule 10, provide that every inaccuracy falls into one of three categories. The changes made by paragraphs 3 and 4 of Schedule 10 mean that existing penalty levels will apply to category 1 inaccuracies (which includes all domestic inaccuracies and inaccuracies relating to taxes other than income tax and capital gains tax). However, inaccuracies in category 2 and 3 are increased by factors of 1.5 and 2 respectively.

The categories of inaccuracies are defined by reference to whether the territory, to which the inaccuracy in connection with offshore income, gains or assets relates, is a category 1 territory, a category 2 territory or a category 3 territory. Every territory in the world, other than the UK, falls into one of these categories. Paragraph 21A of Schedule 24 to the Finance Act 2007 (inserted by paragraph 5 of Schedule 10 to the Finance Act 2010) provides for this classification of territories. Territories falling into category 1 and 3 are listed in this Order and any territory, other than the UK, not listed in category 1 or category 3 falls by default into category 2.

Paragraph 21A of Schedule 24 also has effect for the purposes of Schedule 41 to the Finance Act 2008 (c. 9) (penalties for failure to notify chargeability) and Schedule 55 to the Finance Act 2009 (c. 10) (the late filing of returns) (see paragraph 6A(7) of Schedule 41 to the Finance Act 2008 and paragraph 6A(7) of Schedule 55 to the Finance Act 2009, inserted by paragraphs 8 and 12, respectively, of Schedule 10 to the Finance Act 2010).

A full Impact Assessment has not been produced for this instrument as a negligible impact on the private and voluntary sectors is foreseen.

- (1) 2007 c. 11. Paragraph 21A of Schedule 24 to the Finance Act 2007 is inserted by paragraphs 1 and 5 of Schedule 10 to the Finance Act 2010 (c. 13) from a day to be appointed.
- (2) See also paragraph 6A(7) of Schedule 41 to the Finance Act 2008 (c. 9) (penalties: failure to notify and certain VAT and excise wrongdoing) and paragraph 6A(7) of Schedule 55 to the Finance Act 2009 (c. 10) (penalties for failure to make returns etc). Paragraph 6A(7) of Schedule 41 to the Finance Act 2008 and paragraph 6A(7) of Schedule 55 to the Finance Act 2009 are inserted by paragraphs 8 and 12, respectively, of Schedule 10 to the Finance Act 2010 from a day to be appointed.