CAYMAN ISLANDS



Supplement No. 3 published with Gazette No. 11 dated 26 May, 2008.

STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

2008 No. 1240

THE BRITISH OVERSEAS TERRITORIES CITIZENSHIP (DESIGNATED SERVICE) (AMENDMENT) ORDER 2008

STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

2008 No. 1240

BRITISH NATIONALITY

The British Overseas Territories Citizenship (Designated Service) (Amendment) Order 2008

Made 30th April 2008 Laid before Parliament 2nd May 2008 Coming into force 30th June 2008

The Secretary of State, in exercise of the powers conferred by section 16(3) of the British Nationality Act 1981(1), makes the following Order:

Citation and commencement

1. This Order may be cited as the British Overseas Territories Citizenship (Designated Service) (Amendment) Order 2008 and shall come into force on 30th June 2008.

Amendment

2. In the Schedule to the British Dependent Territories Citizenship (Designated Service) Order 1982(2) (which specifies descriptions of service designated for the purposes of section 16 of the British Nationality Act 1981), paragraphs 2 and 3 are omitted.

Liam Byrne Minister of State

Home Office 30th April 2008

EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Order)

Section 16 of the British Nationality Act 1981 provides that a person born outside the British overseas territories after commencement of that Act will be a British overseas territories citizen in certain circumstances, including where at the time of birth his father or mother is a British overseas territories citizen and is serving outside the British overseas territories in service designated by the Secretary of

State, recruitment for that service having taken place in a British overseas territory. Various types of service are designated for the purposes of this provision by the British Dependent Territories Citizenship (Designated Service) Order 1982.

This Order amends that Order so as to remove from the types of service so designated, service for the Hong Kong Tourist Association and the Hong Kong Trade Development Council.

- (1) 1981 c.61; section 16(3) was amended by section 1(1)(b) of the British Overseas Territories Act 2002 (c.8). [1]
- (2) S.I. 1982/1710, to which there are amendments not relevant to this Order. British Dependent Territories citizenship was renamed "British overseas territories citizenship" by section 1(2) of the British Overseas Territories Act 2002. [2]