CAYMAN ISLANDS



Supplement No. 10 published with Extraordinary Gazette No. 97 dated 19th December, 2018.

THE ADVANCE PASSENGER INFORMATION (AMENDMENT) LAW, $2018\,$

(LAW 35 OF 2018)

Law 35 of 2018

I Assent

Martyn Roper

Governor.

Date: 17th December, 2018

A LAW TO AMEND THE ADVANCE PASSENGER INFORMATION LAW, 2018 AS A CONSEQUENCE OF THE REPEAL OF THE CUSTOMS LAW (2017 REVISION); AND FOR INCIDENTAL AND CONNECTED PURPOSES

ENACTED by the Legislature of the Cayman Islands.

1. (1) This Law may be cited as the Advance Passenger Information (Amendment) Law, 2018.

Short title and commencement

- (2) This Law shall come into force on such date as may be appointed by Order made by the Cabinet.
- 2. The Advance Passenger Information Law, 2018 is amended in section 2 as follows -

Amendment of section 2 of the Advance Passenger Information Law, 2018) - interpretation

(a) by repealing the definition of "competent authority" and substituting the following -

"competent authority" means the Director of the Customs and Border Control Service appointed under the Customs and Border Control Law, 2018 or an officer designated by the Director who shall not be below the rank of Assistant Director under that Law."; and

(b) in the definition of "recreational sports fishing vessel", by deleting the words "referred to in the Immigration Law (2015 Revision)" and substituting the words "referred to in the Customs and Border Control Law, 2018".

Amendment of section 3 of the Advance Passenger Information Law, 2018) - duty to provide advance passenger information

3. The Advance Passenger Information Law, 2018 is amended in section 3(7) by deleting the words "An Assistant Chief Immigration Officer or an immigration officer in a position senior to an Assistant Chief Immigration Officer" and substituting the words "The Director of the Customs and Border Control Service or an officer designated by the Director who shall be the rank of Assistant Director or above".

Passed by the Legislative Assembly the 22nd day of November, 2018.

Dr. Hon. W. McKeeva Bush

Speaker.

Zena Merren-Chin

Clerk of the Legislative Assembly.