## **CAYMAN ISLANDS**



# PUBLIC LANDS (AMENDMENT) LAW, 2019

(Law 24 of 2019)

Supplement No. 15 published with Legislation Gazette No. 28 dated 8th August, 2019.

## **PUBLISHING DETAILS**



#### **CAYMAN ISLANDS**



## **PUBLIC LANDS (AMENDMENT) LAW, 2019**

(Law 24 of 2019)

## **Arrangement of Sections**

Sec	Page	
1.	Short title	5
2.	Amendment of the Public Lands Law, 2017 - interpretation	5
3.	Amendment of the principal Law - general deletions and substitutions	6
4.	Amendment of section 6 - membership of the Commission	6
5.	Amendment of section 7 - meetings	7



#### CAYMAN ISLANDS

(Law 24 of 2019) I Assent,



Martyn Roper Governor

Date: 7th August, 2019

## **PUBLIC LANDS (AMENDMENT) LAW, 2019**

(Law 24 of 2019)

A LAW TO AMEND THE PUBLIC LANDS LAW, 2017 TO PROVIDE FOR A CHANGE IN THE COMPOSITION OF THE MEMBERSHIP OF THE PUBLIC LANDS COMMISSION TO ALLOW MEMBERS OF THE PUBLIC LANDS COMMISSION WHO ARE NOT CIVIL SERVANTS TO BE CHAIRPERSONS OF THE COMMISSION; AND FOR INCIDENTAL AND CONNECTED PURPOSES

ENACTED by the Legislature of the Cayman Islands.

#### Short title

1. This Law may be cited as the Public Lands (Amendment) Law, 2019.

## Amendment of the Public Lands Law, 2017 - interpretation

2. The *Public Lands Law*, 2017, in this Law referred to as the "principal Law", is amended by inserting in the appropriate alphabetical sequence, the following definition—

""Caymanian" has the meaning assigned to it in section 2 of the *Immigration (Transition) Law, 2018;*".



## Amendment of the principal Law - general deletions and substitutions

3. The principal Law is amended by deleting the word "Chairman" or "chairman" wherever it appears and substituting the word "chairperson".

## Amendment of section 6 - membership of the Commission

- 4. The principal Law is amended in section 6 by repealing subsection (1) and substituting the following subsections
  - "(1) The Commission shall consist of
    - (a) six Caymanian members of the public, among whom shall be one from George Town, West Bay, Bodden Town, East End, North Side, and Cayman Brac and Little Cayman;
    - (b) the Director of Lands and Survey or the Director's designate;
    - (c) the Chief Officer of the Ministry of Lands or the Chief Officer's designate;
    - (d) the Chief Officer of the Ministry of Tourism or the Chief Officer's designate; and
    - (e) the Chief Officer of the Ministry of Commerce or the Chief Officer's designate.
  - (1A) The Cabinet, on the recommendation of the Minister, shall appoint the chairperson and the deputy chairperson of the Commission, from among the six Caymanian members of the public named in subsection (1)(a) who are not civil servants.
  - (1B) The secretary to the Commission shall be a civil servant appointed by the Chief Officer of the Ministry presided over by the Minister, in accordance with section 11(1) of the principal Law and shall carry out the duties of secretary to the Commission in accordance with section 11(2)."



## Amendment of section 7 - meetings

- **5**. The principal Law is amended in section 7 by repealing subsection (3) and substituting the following subsection
  - "(3) The chairperson shall preside over the meetings of the Commission and, in the absence of the chairperson, the deputy chairperson shall be the acting chairperson, and in the absence of both, the members at the meeting shall elect a member among those members present, to be the acting chairperson and to preside over the meeting.".

Passed by the Legislative Assembly the 26th day of July, 2019.

Hon. W. McKeeva Bush

Speaker

Zena Merren-Chin

Clerk of the Legislative Assembly

